SPG 2015 category changes Asia Pacific Region Starwood Hotels

Starwood Asia Pacific has 23 hotels rising in SPG reward night category effective March 10, 2015. 34 hotels drop in SPG category in the region. Here is my Loyalty Traveler table for SPG 2015 category changes Asia Pacific region Starwood Hotels.


W Retreat Koh Samui rises to the vaulted level of category 7. Peak Season dates will see a rise from 25,000 points to 35,000 points per night.

  • 7/15/2015 – 8/31/2015
  • 12/20/2015 – 12/31/2015

SPG Category 1 Hotels:

The rise sees eight category 1 hotels in China, India and Indonesia rise to category 2. This is a 50% increase in reward night cost from 2,000 to 3,000 points for Friday and Saturday and 33% more points needed from 3,000 to 4,000 points for Sunday to Thursday nights. Asia Pacific region currently has 42 SPG category-1 hotels. There are 18 in the rest of the world.

The good news is 15 hotels drop from category 2 to category 1 for a net gain in lowest SPG category 1 hotels.

SPG 2015-3-10-cat1-down-AP-region.png

ITC Rajputana, Luxury Collection Jaipur looks like an incredible deal at 14,000 points for 7 nights when rates tend to be more than $100 per night.

Travelers to Taipei and Singapore will have lower cost reward nights at Le Meridien Taipei and Sheraton Towers Singapore.

I have little familiarity with hotels in India and China, so not too much to say about the Asia-Pacific region SPG category changes for Starwood Hotel rewards.

About Ric Garrido

Ric Garrido of Monterey, California started Loyalty Traveler in 2006 for traveler education on hotel and air travel, primarily using frequent flyer and frequent guest loyalty programs for bargain travel. Loyalty Traveler joined BoardingArea.com in 2008.

More articles by Ric Garrido »


Comments are closed.