Hotel Loyalty 2013-Q3 promotions Hotel Loyalty 2013-Q4 promotions Marriott Hotels Marriott Rewards (replaced by Marriott Bonvoy)

Marriott Rewards 2014 category 4 hotels going up to category 5 listed by City, State, Country

This post contains a list of 123 Marriott Rewards category 4 hotels moving up to category 5 on April 8, 2014 organized by City, State and Country. These hotels will no longer be bookable for reservations using Marriott category 1-4 certificates earned from MegaBonus promotions and Marriott Rewards Visa card enrollment after April 7, 2014.

Some basic facts:

  • 716 of 792 Marriott Rewards category-4 hotels, slightly more than 90% are currently located in the USA.
  • 108 of 123 hotels (88%) moving up from category 4 to category 5 are located in the USA.
  • A few hotels on the list released by Marriott Rewards have slightly different or even completely different names. The Marriott release shows a hotel name Courtyard Cincinnati East/Norwood. This hotel name does not exist in a Google search or on the list of Marriott category 4 hotels in Ohio. Courtyard Cincinnati Midtown/Rookwood comes up in a Google search.

Marriott Rewards members have until April 7, 2014 to redeem certificates valid for category 1-4 hotels at these hotels before they rise to category 5.

Marriott 2014 cat 4to5 table

Related Posts:

Loyalty Traveler – Overview of Marriott Rewards 2014 category changes effective April 8 (March 19, 2014)

Loyalty Traveler – Marriott Rewards hotels geographical list for category 5 to category 6 reassignment April 8, 2014 (March 20, 2014).

Marriott Rewards Insiders Marriott Rewards Hotel Category Changes Announcement (March 18, 2014).


Ric Garrido of Monterey, California is writer and owner of Loyalty Traveler.

Loyalty Traveler shares news and views on hotels, hotel loyalty programs and vacation destinations for frequent guests.

Follow Loyalty Traveler on Twitter and Facebook and RSS feed.


  • Ben March 20, 2014

    Hi Ric,

    Actually the first of having chase credit card is limited to categories 1-4 but every year after that are categories 1-5 according to the chase page.

  • iv March 20, 2014

    I’m cancelling my Chase Visa as most properties now a cat. 6! If I want to use my cert. I have to go to the airport hotels!

  • Barry March 20, 2014

    I remember when you did not see a Fairfield Inn higher than Category 2 with most being Category 1. I thought Marriott said they weren’t gutting the program.

  • Ric Garrido March 21, 2014

    @Ben – I mentioned the credit card certificates in both the category 4 and category 5 posts. Thanks for clearly stating why there are two different certificates with the Visa card.

    @iv – California was sure hit hard with hotels going up to 5 and 6.

    @Barry – in fairness to Fairfield Inn, the past few I have stayed at were newer and in nice condition. Still, I don’t want to see them in category 5 and 6 in places where there use to be category 1 and 2 hotels.

  • […] of the respected hotels are not listed; apparently it is our duty to remember all of them by name. Rick from Loyalty Traveler is perplexed that the “company like Marriott Rewards publishes a list of hotel category […]

Comments are closed.